UEFA Champions League Winners From 1955 to Present

UEFA Champions League Winners

The UEFA- Union of European Football Association- Champions League is an annual football competition contested by Europe’s top flight league clubs. The competition was established in 1955 where it was known as the Coupe des Clubs Champion Club’s Cup or simply European Cup.

The competition started off as a single knockout tournament for champions of domestic Leagues in Europe. It wasn’t until 1992 that the competition changed its name and adopted a round-robin group stage format.

In the 1997-98 season, the competition expanded, allowing qualification from other European countries, and some even more than one club, competing in a round-robin group stage, which then advanced to double-legged knockout stages and a single leg finals.

Today, the UEFA Champions League is one of the biggest, most watched, and celebrated football tournaments not just in Europe, but the world in general. Most of the top clubs in the world participate in the UEFA Champions League, solidifying its place as the most prestigious top-level football competition in the world at the Club level.

Since its inception in 1955, a total of 22 clubs have won the competition, with Real Madrid being the most successful in the competition’s history, having won it a total of 14 times. Amongst them are many other clubs to have achieved the highest level of Club football dominance.

Here is a complete list of Winners of the UEFA Champions League from 1955 to now.

YearWinners Runner-Up
1955-56Real MadridStade de Reims
1956-57Real MadridFiorentina
1957-58Real MadridAC Milan
1958-59Real MadridStade de Reims
1959-60Real MadridEintracht Frankfurt
1961-62BenficaReal Madrid 
1962-63AC MilanBenfica
1963-64InternazionaleReal Madrid 
1965-66Real MadridPartizan
1967-68Manchester UnitedBenfica
1968-69AC MilanAjax
1973-74Bayern MunichAtletico Madrid
1974-75Bayern MunichLeeds United
1975-76Bayern MunichSaint Etienne
1976-77LiverpoolBorussia Monchengladbach
1977-78LiverpoolClub Brugge
1978-79Nottingham ForestMalmö FF
1979-80Nottingham ForestHamburg
1980-81LiverpoolReal Madrid
1981-82Aston VillaBayern Munich
1985-86Steaua BucureştiBarcelona
1986-87PortoBayern Munich
1987-88PSV EindhovenBenfica
1988-89AC MilanSteaua Benfica
1989-90AC MilanBenfica
1990-91Red Star BelgradeMarseille
1992-93MarseilleAC Milan
1993-94AC MilanBarcelona
1996-97Borussia DortmundJuventus
1997-98Real MadridJuventus
1998-99Manchester UnitedBayern Munich
1999-2000Real MadridValencia
2000-01Bayern MunichValencia
2001-02Real MadridBayern Leverkusen
2002-03AC MilanJuventus
2004-05LiverpoolAC Milan
2006-07AC MilanLiverpool
2007-08Manchester UnitedChelsea
2008-09BarcelonaManchester United
2009-10InternazionaleBayern Munich
2011-12ChelseaBayern Munich
2012-13Bayern MunichBorussia Dortmund
2013-14Real MadridAtletico Madrid
2015-16Real MadridAtletico Madrid
2016-17Real MadridJuventus
2017-18Real MadridLiverpool
2019-20Bayern MunichParis-Saint Germain
2020-21ChelseaManchester City
2021-22Real MadridLiverpool

Leave a Comment